About Us

Awards Presented by the MCBA


Robert R. Mills Member of the Year


The award is named after Robert R. "Bob” Mills, a prominent trial lawyer and active MCBA volunteer who practiced at the former law firm of Evans, Kitchel and Jenckes, PC from the late 1960s until his untimely death at age 41 in 1984. Mills graduated from the University of Arizona College of Law and spent his entire career at Evans Kitchel, which at the time was one of the largest firms in Phoenix. He was a leading trial lawyer practicing primarily in the railroad personal injury defense field, but also tried complex cases in condemnation and utility law.


Most important, he served as a mentor for an entire generation of younger lawyers, many of whom he introduced to the MCBA and promoted their active participation. He was MCBA treasurer, moving toward president when he became ill. Steve Hirsch and Tim Hyland, both of whom would be future Mills Member of the Year award winners, received their bar association starts at Evans Kitchel under Mills’ direction, assuring that his legacy of activism in the MCBA continues to this day.



2012:  Hon. Glenn Davis

2013:  Jennifer Cranston

2014:  Stan Watts

2015:  Kelly Kral

2016:  Tina Ziegler

2017:  Dan Lowrance

2018:  Robert (Bobby) Kethcart

2019: Charles W. "Chas" Wirken


The Robert R. Mills Member of the Year Award  


Any MCBA member is invited to nominate another current member of the MCBA who meets the criteria listed below:

(1) significantly contributes to the programs and activities of the MCBA;
(2) dedicates himself or herself to furthering the goals of the legal profession and promoting the ideal of professionalism; and/or
(3) shows an outstanding commitment to public service, including charitable, cultural, humanitarian and/or educational service to the community at large.


Click here for the Information Sheet and Nomination Form




Each year, we also honor a Judicial Officer and a Public Lawyer of the Year: 


Judicial Officer of the Year Nomination Form


Public Lawyer of the Year Information & Nomination Form


To recommend worthy recipients, please send completed nomination forms with supporting information to Executive Director Beth Sheehan, bsheehan@maricopabar.org