Lawyer Referral Service

LRS Blog


Posted by: Maricopa Lawyers on May 1, 2014

We can help answer some frequently asked questions regarding employment laws in the state of Arizona.

How often should my employer pay me? 

You should be paid at least twice a month, no more than 16 days apart and your employer should have a schedule for paydays. The only time an employer can pay his or her employees once per month is when its primary place of business is located somewhere other than Arizona or if the payroll system is located outside the state of Arizona.

What is Arizona’s minimum wage? 

Since January 1st, 2014, the minimum wage in Arizona has been $7.90. Every year, the state of Arizona will increase its minimum wage according to a statutory cost of living formula which was built into the 2006 Arizona Minimum Wage Act

When will I get paid after being terminated, or after I quit? 

If you have been terminated, you must be paid within seven of your working days or the next pay day — whatever comes sooner. If you work for a school district, you must be paid within ten calendar days from the date you were terminated.

After you quit a job, you should be paid on the regular payday for the pay period in which your resignation occurred.

What should I do if I think I’ve been discriminated against? 

According to the Arizona Bar, “Arizona and federal laws prohibit discrimination in employment on the basis of race, color religion, sex, age, disability or national origin.” If an employer has less than fifteen employees working for them, they may be exempt from some but not all discrimination laws.

If you think you’ve been discriminated against, you can contact us to help you find an attorney that will work for you, or you can file a claim with the Equal Employment Opportunity Comission (EEOC) or the Arizona Civil Rights Division (ACRD) of the Attorney General’s Office.